I have spent my first full day in Edinburgh after arriving here on Wednesday afternoon.

The new Air NZ Boeing 777 I took out of Auckland was awesome featuring more leg room and a brilliant entertainment system (but too hard to navigate, and the handset should have a lock on it to prevent calling the hostesses by accident). The plane made even the long trip to LA bearable. The shorter trip to Frankfurt was a nightmare by comparison.

I was disappointed by the lack of free internet at various airports. One kiosk charged 18euro an hour for access. A real hardship when one has to wait several hours in an airport.

I saw three movies on the Auckland to LA flight: Blades of Glory (6/10); The World’s Fastest Indian (7.5/10) and Shrek the Third (6.5/10). On the jounrney also I read Faith and Politics After Christendom: The Church as a Movement for Anarchy (After Christendom) by Jonathan Bartley. It is more of a survey of the shifting grouns in church and state relations in the UK than an Christian anarchist manifesto, which is what I was expecting. But such changing grounds means something else when one lives within a soceity with an established church. Just as the coloniser has trouble understanding decolonisation, it may seem to be anarchical to disestablish the Church of England.

Yesterday I walked into town through the Royal Botanic Gardens. I was pleased to see a cabbage tree and later saw some gorse (a native of Scotland!). There was an insatlled exhibition of Hard Rain – the lyrics of Bob Dylan’s song pset to photographs. It was quite striking – check out the website: http://www.hardrainproject.com/exhibition.htm

I then headed into town and tried to find a call phone. While I abhor the lack of competition in NZ there is too much choice here -not only of companies, but also plans or lack thereof.

I then walked up the Mound to New College and also sussed out where I’ll be living g soon. Then i walked across the Royal mile and down into the main University Area. There isnn’t much of a campus to speak of – it is mixed up with houses and shops and parks. But I’m sure it will have its own charm. I found a new favourite bookstore Word Power and had a feed at a wholefood cafe.

It is hard to believe that I’m fianlly here in Edinburgh. I feel a bit like Burt Munro in the the World’s Fastest Indian – having a dream and seeing it through.While I don’t expect to set a world record (a meaningless concept in theology) I hope to do some good and have some adventures. Stay tuned.

