http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=r06c-20&o=1&p=8&l=as1&asins=1741042038&fc1=000000&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&lc1=0000FF&bc1=000000&bg1=FFFFFF&f=ifr&nou=1I’m keen to get out into the hills soon – especially since I have another week before things really get underway at University.

I got myself a Lonely Planet Guide called Walking in Scotland. While I have been critical of those foreign students who turned up in Dunedin with the Lonely Planet guides to Tramping in New Zealand this one is useful for newcomers to Scotland to get some basic information. And by no means do I think that this guide is enough or adequate for everything I wish to do.

Here are some links for future reference:

Online Guides
Walking Scotland
Walkingworld
Walking and Climbing Links

Weather / Conditions
Met Office
Mountain Weather Information Service
sportscotland Avalanche Information Service

Maps
Ordnance Survey
Harvey Maps

Accommodation
Mountain Bothies Association
Scottish Youth Hostels
Scottish Independent Hostels

Access / Deer Stalking
ScotWays
Hillphones
Outdoor Access Scotland

Transport
Traveline Scotland
National Rail Enquiries
First Scot Rail
Scottish Citylink
Royal Mail’s Postbus

Gear
Tiso Edinburgh
Blacks
Nevisport, Edinburgh

